Are you looking to migrate to another country as a skilled migrant?

Do you possess speclaised skills and accreditation in Accounting, Engineering, IT, nursing or other areas? If you do, you might be eligible to apply as a skilled migrant overseas. Skilled migration is a program to employ highly skilled individual in the list of occupations that a certain country lacks. Not all skill set require university degrees, in fact skills sets like hairdressing, cooking and plumbing are some of the varied skills countries like Australia, New Zealand and Canada are after in their skilled migration program.

In Australia for example, the skill stream is a point-based immigration system that is applicable to individual under the aged of 55 years. The applicant must have their occupation on the Skilled Occupational List of that same year, pass the qualification requirement done by the assessing authority, and score at least a minimum number of points on the Point Test. The points are awarded for the following factors: age, English language ability, skilled employment, Educational Qualifications, Australian Study Requirements, Credentialed Community Language qualifications, Study in regional Australia, Partner Skill qualification, Professional year in Australia, nominated by State or Territory Government (visa subclass 190 only), and nominated by State and Territory Government or Sponsorship by an eligible family member (visa subclass 490 only). Interested applicant can send their application by submitting an expression of interest to work and live in Australia. An invitation from Skillselect to apply will be given. Application and grant can be done in or outside Australia.

Skilled Occupational List

Point Test


Australian Skilled Occupation visa

The point based immigration scheme is also implemented in the United Kingdom, New Zealand, and Canada to access skilled individual and fill the country’s occupational shortages. The UK’s 5 tier point-based system was influenced by Australia’s migration scheme. UK Highly Skilled Migration Program (HSMP) points are scored on age, education, work experience, Good English skills, and past earnings.

UK’s work visa

New Zealand depends heavily on immigration to strengthen their economy. They actively invite skilled migrants who scored enough points to move to their country. The government offers nine months for migrants to look for jobs, if successful they are eligible to apply for permanent residency. Like Australia, New Zealand’s point-based immigration program undergoes submission of Expression of Interest (EOI) on the Skilled Migrant Category they wish to apply, and then receive an invitation to fill and submit a resident application. A visa (resident visa or job search visa) will be release once the application is successful.

Skilled Migrant Category

Skilled Migrant Category Resident Visa

Like New Zealand, Canada, depend for their continuous economic growth on skilled migrants. Like other countries, Canada uses similar selection criteria. These include: Age, language skills in English and/or French, education, work experience, existing job offers, and adaptability.

Six Selection factor – Federal skilled workers

Federal Skilled workers eligibility

United States has a number of immigration schemes for individual who want to work in the country. A Temporary (Nonimmigrant) Workers visa allows an employer to file a visa to a prospective worker to fill a position for a certain period of time, however not all visa classifications need an employer’s petition to file (I.E.Nonimmigrant E-1, E-2, E-3 and TN classification. The Employment-based immigration program is a permanent workers visa for highly skilled individual who seek to immigrate in the US. There are approximately offers 140,000 immigrant visas per fiscal year. The stream has five preference visa categories: Employment First Preference (E1): Priority Workers, Employment Second Preference (E2): Professionals Holding Advanced Degrees and Persons of Exceptional Ability, Employment Third Preference (E3) Skilled workers, Professional, and Unskilled Workers (Other Workers), Employment Fourth Preference (E4) Certain Special Immigrants, and the Employment Fifth Preference (E5): Immigrant Investors.

Temporary (Non-immigrant) Workers

Employment-Based immigration program

Permanent EB-1

Permanent EB- 2

Permanent EB- 3

Permanent EB- 4

Permanent EB- 5