Canadian Immigration

Federal Skilled Worker Program

Canada opens up its doors and is now accepting applications for its Federal Skilled Worker Program since 1st May 2014. The program is Canada’s immigration category to allow aspiring applicants who specifically show an ability to become economically viable and well established professional to emigrate in Canada, as set by the federal government.

The Canadian Federal Skilled Worker program is a point-based immigration system that provides permanent residence (immigration) to successful applicants. To qualify for the program, applicants must meet a set of criteria, scores a minimum of 67 points, and can have enough money to support themselves and their dependents after arriving in Canada.

The criteria for selection are categorized and score as under:

· Education: Applicants are awarded up to 25 points

· Language Ability (IELTS 6 in each ability): Applicants are awarded up to 24 points

· Work Experience ( minimum of 1 year continuous full-time employment) : Applicants are awarded up to 15 points

· Age: Applicants are awarded up to 12 points

· Adaptability: Applicants are awarded up to 10 points

Provincial Nominee Program

Canada’s Provincial Nominee Program is for individuals with skills, education and work experience that can provide an immediate contribution to a province or territory in Canada.

To apply for the Provincial Nominee Program, applicants must first apply to a province or territory where they wish to settle and complete its provincial nomination process. The Canadian provinces nominate immigrants based on their immigration needs and genuine intention of the applicant to settle in their territory.

The list of Canada’s Provinces and Territories that have an agreement with the Government:











Successful nominated applicants have to make a separate application to the Citizenship Immigration Canada (CIC) for permanent residence visa. A CIC officer will assess the application based on Canadian immigration regulation. However, they are not assessed on the six selection factors of the Federal Skilled Worker Program.

Applicants must pass a medical examination, security and criminal checks, and must have a proof that they have enough money to support themselves and their dependent during their stay in Canada.

Canadian Experience Class

In order for an applicant to qualify for a Canadian Experience Class, they must have at least one (1) year of paid full-time work experience (or an equal amount of paid part-time work experience) in a National Occupation Classification (NOC) occupation at Skill Type 0, A or B IN CANADA within the previous three (3) years with the proper authorization.

The NOC was developed by Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) to be a systematic cataloguing of occupations in the Canadian labour market. The NOC is divided into five (5) bands:

· Skill Type 0 Management Occupations;

· Skill Type A which is primarily comprised of professional occupations;

· Skill Type B which consists of technical, skilled trades and paraprofessional occupations;

· Skill Type C which comprises occupations that mainly consist of intermediate level, clerical or supportive functions;

· Skill Type D which consists of elemental sales or service and primary labourer occupations.

To qualify for the Canadian Experience Class, the experience in Skill Type 0, A or B must consist of actions described in the lead description and a substantial number of the duties described in the Main Duties section of the NOC, including all the essential duties.

If the applicants gained their skilled work experience in Canada in a NOC 0 or A job, they must meet the minimum level of Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7 in either English or French for all four (4) language abilities. If they gained their skilled work experience in Canada in a NOC B job, applicants must meet the minimum level of CLB 5 in either English or French for all four (4) language abilities.

Express Entry

The Express Entry System is a new method implemented by the CIC to processes qualified Federal Skilled Worker Class, Federal Skilled Trades Class, and the Canadian Experience Class candidates for immigration. The Express Entry system involves two steps: (1) Completion of Online Express Entry Profile and, (2) Invitation to apply for a Permanent Residence visa for highest ranking candidates.

STEP 1: The Online Express Entry profile is a secure way to gathers applicant information such as their: skills, work experience, language ability, education and, other important details to assess candidate’s eligibility.

STEP 2: Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) is a point-based system that assess profile and ranked candidates in the pool. The highest ranked candidate will be draw from the pool and be invited to apply for Permanent residency in Canada.

Invited candidate will be given 60 days to submit an online Application for Permanent Residence. The CIC will process the majority of the complete applicants in 6 months or less.

Canada has three categories of business immigration: Investors, Entrepreneurs and Self-Employed

Investors and Entrepreneur – Terminated in last 19th June 2014

The Immigrant Investor Program – Investors and Entrepreneur aims to have experienced business individuals contribute to Canada’s growth and long-term prosperity by investing in the country’s economy. The Investors must have the following criteria to qualify:

· show that they have business experience

· have a net worth of at least C$1,600,000 that was gained legally and

· invest C$800,000.

· Canadian Permanent Residence – Self-Employed (Business Class)

Canadian Permanent Residence –Self-Employed (Business Class)

In order to qualify for the Canadian Permanent Residence –Self-Employed (Business Class) the Citizenship Immigration Canada (CIC) invites self-employed individuals that have the intention and ability to create their own employment (purchasing and managing a farm) and make a significant contribution to the cultural, artistic or athletic life of Canada to immigrate in the country.